top of page

Teacher Spotlight: Mr. Koenig

Since 2012, Mr. Dan Koenig has been our principal at Archbishop Bergan. He is one of the many alumni who call Bergan their home. In his few years here as principal, Mr. Koenig has directly affected the school in a very positive way. He is the man at the head of the school, and I had the opportunity to sit down with him and ask him some questions.

How was your experience at Bergan as a high schooler?

“I quickly started to understand the aspect of family upon coming to Bergan. You start to realize that there is a tradition here. You either had to uphold that tradition or get out of the way of it. I had many great friends, great classmates, and great social interactions. I always think of this place as home.”

What were your favorite things at Bergan?

“It was safe and a great environment to grow up in. I always felt welcomed by the staff members. They provided a model for me in life. I did not know what I wanted to do for the rest of my life, I just knew I wanted to help people because people helped me. That is what got me into this career. Because of that, the staff members are probably my favorite thing about Bergan but also my friends, whom I still keep in contact with. It was just a great environment to grow up in.”

Are those things similar to what you think is great about Bergan today?

“The teachers are definitely the most important aspect of our system. We have 12 staff members that are alumni. We end up having number of people that come back to this place because it is family to them. That is what makes Bergan such a great place.”

How did you know it was your calling to be principal at Bergan?

“Your plans that you have for yourself are not always the plans that God has for you. I always say, ‘If you want to make God laugh, tell Him your plans.’ I was the assistant principal at Fremont, and I was only getting to work with the kids in my classes and the athletes I was working with. I thought I could be more impactful to more kids at Bergan. It is not always about what you want to do, it is about using your gifts God gave you. That is why I felt Bergan was a good place for me.”

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page