top of page

Food Critics: Is it a Winner? Mac'N'Cheese with Chicken For Dinner?


Jake Ridder:

This month’s food review is the new Mac & Cheese bowl from KFC. Now, I went into this experience completely biased as I believe Mac & Cheese is one of the most flawless creations to ever graze the planet (shout out to Kraft 1937). So, first impressions, I did not believe that the title “$5 fill-up” was right as the bowl was small. I am a growing boy, and at the time I was a bit disappointed. Boy, was I wrong, and I would like to apologize to the Colonel for questioning his judgment on the naming of this dish.

Now to my review of the taste. It was a quality dish, with good gluey noodles and quality crispy chicken. However, after consuming this dish I realized two rights don’t always make a right. Picture having a puppy that was covered in peanut butter. Two great things, but they just don’t go together. Overall, I do not recommend spending the $5 on this dish.

David Hinojosa:

I went to KFC with an open mind to try out their new menu item, the Mac & Cheese Bowl. Their chicken actually tastes good, especially when it comes to their spice mixture in the breading of their chicken. However, I am not a big fan of Kentucky Fried Chicken’s mac & cheese, and I came to be very disappointed with this new item. I didn’t expect much when buying this product. I was justified to think so. It was nothing exciting. It was basically their own mac & cheese with popcorn chicken thrown on top, which I find bland and quite boring. I did like the addition of the shredded cheese sprinkled on top though.

I personally think that this is a cash grab made by KFC in order to gain income to keep their dying business afloat whilst Popeye’ s is dominating the chicken game. KFC is willing to put random items on their menu together in order to create a dish that they think will sell. Just putting chicken and mac & cheese together isn’t enough to bring in the money. In all, this is not a bad item on the menu. It’s just not great nor completely bad, it is blah and it’s price point is definitely not worth purchasing it.

Parker Ramaekers:

I believe that the KFC chicken bowl was pretty alright, nothing exceptional, but also nothing terrible. I would say that the chicken was complemented very well by the mac n’ cheese, and the two flavors were good enough. The whole meal was good, it was filling and tasted good, but wasn't the best thing in the world. The whole meal wasn't as good as I hoped, but it was good enough. I would rate it as a 3.39/7.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page