top of page

The Great Excursion from Texas to Nebraska

There are major differences between Texas and Nebraska, they range from how the people act to the grading system. There are many things that are different, but there are surprisingly still a lot of things that are similar. There are also things that I've learned about how people view Texas.

The main difference that I’ve noticed was how people act towards others. In Texas people act in a very set, proper, and manners-minded way. But the conversations felt set in stone, automatic almost. However, when I have interacted with people here in Nebraska. They seem to have actual meaningful conversations. They seem more human, more compassionate, more full of life. There's nothing wrong with how Texans hold their conversations but it feels way too formal and restricted, but the way that Nebraskans have their conversations are more welcoming and open.

Another difference that I've noticed is that people are a lot kinder especially in the way they carry themselves because it is full of compassion. There are two ways that people in the south carry themselves. They are either super uptight or extremely relaxed. I mean that the people think that they are better than everyone else, or they treat you like you’re their best friend that they haven't seen in forever. You’re more likely to meet the later, but the people here seem some open and that they are more willing to talk to people for any reason. In my own personal experience, the people here seem more genuinely nice and more compassionate.

The education system is different from the school that I attended before Bergan. The main one that I’ve noticed would have to be the grading system. Back in Texas, the lowest score you could have and still be passing would be a 70 (C). Other than that I haven’t noticed any major discrepancies that can’t be explained away by the fact that I went from a big school system to a smaller one.

Moving to Fremont from Texas was the best thing that could have happened to my life. Now that I'm here, I have had the opportunity to meet all of the amazing students and staff here at Bergan. I can say that this school is more open and more caring for new students. I have had the chance to make new friends, to participate in new opportunities, and I've had the chance to experience a new kindness that is a welcomed change from the unforgiving kids from my old high school.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page